More about Santiago!

In my last blog post I really fast tried to express everything what happened in this story because it is so exciting, but now I want to put more information about main characters and their thoughts. You can say that it is not so important, and it has not a necessity to write about it again, so I can argue with you.

If one day you decide to read this novel, you will remember my words. It is one of few books which has simple sequence and the same variety of actions, but has more deep background. Everybody will catch their own vibe, and underline those details which somehow contact with their inner condition.

So! Today I want you to pay your attention only on main character – Santiago. You know almost full story from my previous writing, but which specific details you can find there?

Each time when the old man faced with marine life, he had shown as a loving, pitying and respect every creation of God man. He worried about the birds that it is so hard to earn for its living, enjoying the love games of guinea pigs. The old man feels a deep sense of respect to a large fish. He recognizes in it a worthy opponent, who may win the decisive battle.

His failure an old man meets with a truly Christian humility. He does not complain, do not grumble, he silently doing his job, and when he was attacked by a small talkative, he just ordered himself to go back to reality and continue working. Losing their catch in an unequal battle with the sharks, man feels defeated, but this sensation fills his soul with incredible ease.

I think that this book is very strong with a deep meaning. This book is about the struggle against the elements of life. The author shows us that you should never give up. Life is a fight with the elements and overcomes of difficulties. Even when life finally leaves fish bones, all the same person becomes a hero just because he lived and survived and not gave up. Each carries his cross, like an old man carries fish.

Most of the people are too hard-nosed and not even because of the money, but for the sake of principle, even if it destroys the principle of human rights and can kill them! For example, Santiago was almost killed because of his principle, but still did not get anything, but he knew that he had caught and had won!

Anastasija 🙂


6 thoughts on “More about Santiago!

  1. Wow, I see you wrote pretty a lot this time) and I really respect that you used some words from our vocabulary list) I have one question, do you really like this book or you read just because you had to, and it was kind of assignment?) Do not understand me wrong) I’m not judging or critisizing you)I’m just wondering))

    Like

  2. HI Anastasija – It really is a deep, profound book, isn’t it? It is a simple story, but the author’s message about not giving up, and about what victory really means, is important. I read this book in high school, and the message has still stayed with me.

    Like

  3. Hi, Nastya. Last time I read your blog last time and noticed that you told us all events from the book in one time. I am agree wih you that this book isn`t for relaxing, but for analysis. I really like your explanation: ” He worried about the birds that it is so hard to earn for its living, enjoying the love games of guinea pigs.” I think that it is an description of person who has a full harmony in his soul. But at the same time character of this book was very strong, because he didn`t use to give up (as you wrote).It is mix of very oposite qualities of character that made us to wonder by him. How do you think if this book a good motivation to be stronger? (Albna)

    Like

  4. Hello Anastasija,
    I really like the way of how you are thinking, I like that you look more deeply inside the meaning of this story. I also agree that the characters and their thoughts are very important in every story. I think you are really critical reader. I am wondering have you any ideas what was Santiago’s life in the past and perhaps you have some predictions what will be with him in the future?
    Nina.

    Like

  5. oooow, i think your book is really amazing! the main hero of this book so like everything around him. i think it is so cool, when you love nature you alwas see it it some special things. i agree with you that nowdays people in our life not interested in this. also i know that life is a big chalange and troubles, your words were very deep and a really apreciate it.

    kseniya

    Like

  6. Hi Anastasija,
    I really like your book because it is a lit of bit about sense of life. What did you feel when you was reading this book? Whether there is justice in this book? And who won?
    Vlad

    Like

Leave a comment